Fibromyalgia…ever heard of it?

I have this stupid disease. Part and parcel of my grand trine: migraines, ulcerative colitis and fibro. I am exceedingly fortunate because despite having these physical issues, they affect me infrequently. My colitis is mostly dormant. Occasionally, usually as a result of some low grade infection it flares up. My migraines are not as frequent as they were 7 months ago. The Fibro, also known as the “Pain disease” has left me pretty much alone for almost a year.

It’s only been since last Friday that I began to experience the dreaded symptoms. Pain, everywhere, all my joints and muscles. Extreme exhaustion, staying in bed for days. Moving hurts. So of course, I have a paper due tomorrow that I haven’t written, since I barely made it to class and then came home and slept all afternoon and early evening. It’s supposed to be about a movie I was meant to see on my own time. Of course, I haven’t seen it. Then there is a paper on Matthew, the 3rd paper on the same 6 verses that was due today. But what can I do? I am sitting here in bed wanting nothing more but to recline and sleep and hope that I feel better.
I missed both fencing classes…
I don’t think I can handle making a bunch of B’s. I can barely tolerate the one I’ve made so far. Perhaps if I explain to my teachers? But the idea of asking for extensions fills me with shame. I don’t think there is a good solution. Perhaps my only hope is in prayer.

One thought on “Fibromyalgia…ever heard of it?

  1. the icarecafe would really like your help with a discussion on Fibromyalgia

    As you many know the icarecafe has been set up to provide a space for patients, carers and their supporters online.

    Some of the members have set up a discussion group on the subject of Fibromyagia. The group has asked lots of questions which are still in the process of being answered. So we thought it appropriate if we invited people from other Fibromyalgia discussion group and blogs to ask if they wished to participate.

    To have a look at the discussions so far please have a look at

    http://www.icarecafe.com/?page_id=1107&group_id=36

    Please do feel free to join in the discussions and to post any information which might be of interest to our members.

    If you have any questions please feel free to get in touch. I’m one of the moderators of the icarecafe and I can be contacted by sending and internal email to my profile.

    Thanks very much in advance for your help!

    Best wishes

    Belinda Shale
    Moderator – the icarecafe

    http://www.icarecafe.com

    Like

So...what do you think?

