An overflow of information

I finished my last test. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it might be. From a list of six essay questions I had to answer three. I went to see Made of Honor for my Friday film. I enjoyed the escapism of it but I was bothered by the overall portrayal of Patrick Dempsey’s character. First he is basically a man whore who has developed sophisticated rules to keep him from feeling anything for the numerous women he uses like Kleenex. He excuses his behavior by saying that “he’s honest” with the women he has sex with. He’s content with that. Perpetually stunted. Then he starts to lose his best friend who is a woman and he realizes that he loves her. He comes to the conclusion that he must change and grow. He becomes more sensitive. He’s also a coward and can’t bring himself to tell her how he feels. So he decided to act as her “Maid of Honor” at her wedding to someone else and try to “steal her back.” He’s deceptive and a total wimp. But somehow he gets the girl, despite the fact that he ends up getting knocked out by the man she is engaged to. Part of me was glad that he got punched. A kind of retribution for his cad like behavior. Part of me was just disgusted by his loserdom.

I had a great hike on Saturday with my friend Steve. We hiked down to a waterfall off of the Blue Ridge Parkway called Apple Orchard Falls. The weather was perfect, not too hot or cold and the hike was just long enough. We even saw a snake, it turned out to be a “Southern Ringneck.” Non venomous and they don’t bite. It was only a baby.

Afterward we had a great dinner at Metro to refuel. While their Cosmos aren’t as good as the Pine Room at the Hotel Roanoke, they have great sushi and the best dessert I’ve had in Roanoke, dark chocolate pot du creme with Grand Marnier.

In other news, Detroit is winning in the Stanley Cup playoffs, but the BoSox lost today. 😦
Can’t win em’ all I guess. Still, I want them to.

Many, MANY people are dead in Myanmar after the equivalent of a Cat 5 Hurricane hit there. I saw footage on CNN of bodies lining the riverbank for miles. Mom says the real concern is if the government there doesn’t let us in the country to help, disease will spread like wildfire. Another large number of people died in a violent earthquake in China. Information like that is anguishing because there is so little that you can do about it.

To escape those thoughts I turned to television tonight. It’s my opinion that we are living in the Golden Age of TV. There are so many great shows on right now. Soon my summer series will start up, Rescue Me, Saving Grace with Holly Hunter, Burn Notice. Tonight was a new House episode which was gripping. It was the build up episode for the season finale. Since I can’t live my life around it and other shows, Tivo and BitTorrent are my two favorite toys.

Sunday was Pentecost, the birthday of the Christian church. In the Sunday school class I teach, I brought cupcakes and we celebrated the event and did some fun activities to explain the story. Pentecost is the day the Holy Spirit empowered the disciples to follow in Jesus’ footsteps. Tongues of fire appeared over their heads and they all began speaking different languages but could understand each other. The 10:00 a.m. service was a festival, with bells and African drumming and 3 baptisms. Really beautiful. We studied the parables after the evening service. Reverend Thompson was on fire, he really is fantastic at helping you see beyond the framework of the words and interpretation and get at the metaphor Jesus likely intended. That message is always much more radical. I expect I will keep reflecting on how he deconstructed the parable of the good Samaritan.

This Sunday is my last Sunday school class until the fall. After the 10:00 a.m. service, which is supposed to be casual dress Sunday, we will have “Pig on the Patio”, a BBQ, Bluegrass and end of the program year celebration.

Apropos of nothing, I hope to go camping before my internship starts, but it’s difficult when I haven’t met any camping buddies around here.

I have also been thinking a lot about going back to a synogogue to ask some more questions. There’s something about it that draws me. Maybe it’s because, oddly enough, it makes me feel closer to Jesus. It helps me understand his own religion. It underscores the revolutionary nature of his ministry.

So...what do you think?

