Friday…My first day off

What a busy day yesterday!

I worked on the site at church, then met with the gentleman I’ve been working with on it. I hooked him up with a former colleague and current friend who is an expert designer.

Then I got to meet with Barkley (The Rector) I introduced him to the blog we’ve set up for him to use with the newly redesigned site. It will be called the Rector’s Page. I look forward to reading it. We segued into discussing my internship. At the end of our talk he said he wanted to show me something and led me into the workroom where the entire staff was waiting to yell SURPRISE! with a yummy chocolate cake. I was really surprised and delighted. Everything about this experience has been informative and educational. I’ve grown every week.

It gives me enough confidence to continue walking this road.

Today I took my advisor to the airport and on the way to pick her up I was flipping around on the radio. Can I just say that the selection of radio stations here in the valley is terrible? I usually keep it on RadioIQ, the NPR station, but it is difficult to pick up out near Hollins. Anyway, I came across a really neat song. It was on the Christian station. I am not sure how I feel about Christian “rock”. Sometimes I think it’s hokey and part of a fake and insincere evangelical movement, and sometimes I listen to it and enjoy it. I guess that means I am officially undecided. I liked this because it’s about trying to see through God’s eyes. It’s by Brandon Heath and it’s called “Give Me Your Eyes”

Here are the words:

Looked down from a broken sky
Traced out by the city lights
My world from a mile high
Best seat in the house tonight
Touched down on the cold black tile
Hold on for the sudden stop
Breathe in the familiar shock
Of confusion and chaos
Are those people going somewhere?
Why have I never cared?

Give me your eyes for just one second
Give me your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me your love for humanity
Give me your arms for the broken hearted
Wasn’t it far beyond my reach?
Give me your heart for the once forgotten
Give me your eyes so I can see
again
again
yeah
yeah

Step out on a busy street
See a girl and our eyes meet
Does her best to smile at me
To hide whats underneath
There’s a man just to her right
Black suit and a bright red tie
Too ashamed to tell his wife
He’s out of work
He’s buying time
Are those people going somewhere?
Why have I never cared?

Give me your eyes for just one second
Give me your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me your love for humanity
Give me your arms for the broken hearted
Wasn’t it far beyond my reach?
Give me your heart for the once forgotten
Give me your eyes so I can see
again
again
yeah
yeah

I’ve Been there a million times
A couple of million eyes
Just moving past me by
I swear I never thought that I was wrong
Well I want a second glance
So give me a second chance
To see the way you see the people all alone

Give me your eyes for just one second
Give me your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me your love for humanity
Give me your arms for the broken hearted
Wasn’t it far beyond my reach?
Give me your heart for the once forgotten
Give me your eyes so I can see
again
again
yeah
yeah

I am going to meet the local manager for the Obama campaign about being a precinct captain at 2pm. I am excited to see what that will be like.

I hope I can get a yard sign.

I ordered a few samples of my favorite perfume Tihota from LuckyScent, and I wanted to order some chocolate from Le Maison du Chocolat but they want over 20 bucks just to ship it and the chocolate itself is half that. I will just wait for my next trip to NYC.

I heard about research today that scientists believe may pave the way for a medication that can replace exercise. You can read about it here.

I’ve watched a bunch of movies over the last few evenings.

Flushed Away– *** Animated, very cute and witty. A story about the importance of people over possessions.

Neverwas– ** Aaron Eckhart, Sir Ian McKellan and still not very good.

Becoming Jane Austen– *** Excellent. It featured a talented Anne Hathaway and pre-Atonement, pre-Wanted James McAvoy. He does doomed loved better than anyone I’ve seen.

Heaven– *** Giovanni Ribisi and Cate Blanchett… sad and sweet and kind of wonderful.

Perfect Stranger– ** Gimmicky, and the actors deserved better but man did Giovanni Ribisi look AMAZING in it.

Bobby– * Ho hum, Laurence Fishburn was the only standout in my mind

Freedom Writers– *** Excellent, inspiring, gritty, and enjoyable…much better than I anticipated

The plan tonight is to go out for Mexican with Mom, go walk the chaplain’s dog (she is also my teacher, advisor and friend at Hollins) and then go see Mamma Mia. I told her I would walk him in the morning too. If he and Tucker got along I would just bring him over here. But Tucker is too aggressive. He thinks he is a big dog. Ray Ray (the chaplain’s dog) is actually a big dog.

So...what do you think?

