Another Lazy Summer Day

I was listening to NPR today on my way to the library and I heard a story about a guy who is a huge fan of baseball. He has made a career out of going to games and catching MLB balls at batting practice and during games, not to mention asking players directly who are in the dugout. He’s written a book about how you can do this yourself. He’s taken this to extremes, owns caps of every major league team, knows how to ask for balls in 18 languages. His book is also about getting more out of games you watch by becoming a more educated fan. It’s called Watching Baseball Smarter: A Professional Fan’s Guide for Beginners, Semi-Experts, and Deeply Serious Geeks . I’m a big fan of the Boston Red Sox. They haven’t been winning much lately but that’s OK. That’s one of the things I love about Boston fans, they almost like the team more when they lose than when they win.

I checked out a film called The Bank Job to watch later, though I may go out to the theater and see something else as well. Something like The Pineapple Express. I have a weakness for Judd Apatow films.

Today I am thinking about needing a part time job. When school starts at the end of the month I’ll only have Thursday after 4:00 pm, Friday after 4:00 pm and all day Saturday. There are not a lot of job openings for that limited of a schedule. I wish I could just babysit. I like kids.

So...what do you think?

