Pineapple Express, Dog Kennels and Venezuelan Food

After seeing the Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince preview, I happened to catch the end of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix on HBO today. As it ended I remembered the ending of Deathly Hallows and got a little choked up. I think J.K. Rowling really is a remarkable storyteller and I am definitely putting her new book of stories set in the world of Harry Potter, Beedle the Bard, on my wish list. I think I will also re-read Deathly Hallows.
I went to see The Pineapple Express last night. The first few minutes had an intro set in the 30’s and featuring Bill Hader (Officer Slater from SuperBad) in a very funny scene. The director lingered on one obscene gesture Bill Hader was doing long enough for you to catch yourself wondering why the hell you were studying it with such fascination and laugh uncomfortably. Masterful. There are a couple of places where that happens. Actually I, and the audience, laughed a lot through the movie. You kind of just have to let go of rational thought and go with the reactionary, alternately mellow, laughing at everything, paranoid and on a mission vibe that pot seems to infuse people with. The movie captures that well. It also makes me wonder if all young men are like these guys to a degree. For sure some of moments in the film remind me of the young guys I’ve managed over the years. I used a free movie reward I had from the Regal Crown club to see it, but I wouldn’t have regretted paying.

Still, I think Tropic Thunder is going to be much better. I’ll be in Orlando when it comes out though so I’m not sure if I will see it until I come back.

When I got home I put on The Bank Job. It’s a heist movie set in 70’s London. Very crisp, fast paced and fun. Lately I’ve liked everything British. I hope I can visit there one day, especially to see some of the great Anglican churches. Like St. Georges Hanover Square. It’s been featured in many stories I’ve read that were set in London.

Bernie Mac has passed away. He was only 50 years old. How sad. How surprising. He died of pneumonia.

I’ve just remembered that I have to find accommodations for Tucker while we are in Orlando. I hate to put him in a kennel. Number one, he has to go and get a shot, he is due for a Bortadella. I hate putting him in a kennel. I think he gets traumatized in them. No matter how nice they are. Pet sitters are weird because they come to your house and who knows what they get up to. If we were flying anyone other than Southwest I would take him with us, but they don’t allow pets at all.

At least we will be staying at a nice hotel. The Wyndham Orlando is near Universal so I can surely meet my friend for lunch or dinner while I am there. I read there is a new Venezuelan restaurant there which I would really like to check out. I love Venezuelan food and have since I lived there for a year as a child of 12. There aren’t many restaurants in the US though. There was one in Boston and I think there are several now in NYC. There was a tiny one in Orlando called Rica Arepa but I couldn’t find it the last time I went. I’m not sure it’s still in business. The new one is called Q’kenan. I read that they have Frescolita, a strawberry soda and my brother’s favorite when we were little and they might have my favorite, a lime flavored soda called Chinoto! They have cachapas which are like a sweet corn pancake with cream and arepas, more of a corn cake filled with meat and or cheese, two of my favorites. They even have yucca frita, which are like french fries. I hope they are still open and I get to eat there. Mom would also enjoy it.

The weather is beautiful and mild today, sunny but not too hot. You can tell it is August. I saw three shooting stars last night. It’s the beginning of the Perseid meteor shower. The peak night is the 12th, which is perfect because mom and I will be driving to Norfolk in the early morning hours to catch our flight out. We can do it with the top down and see bunches on our way.

I’m watching the women’s fencing Gold medal bout for sabre. It’s Zagunis vs Jacobson (a Yalie). Zagunis won the Gold last time and she is up 12-8 right now and only needs to get to 15 to win the Gold. (First one to 15 wins the Gold.) Ahh, there she goes, she just won the Gold. Mariel Zagunis. So USA won Gold, Silver and Bronze. I wonder when Foil is. Ahh, it’s only available streaming on the web tomorrow. Well, I’ll have to see if I’ll be able to do that. I am doing my first Lay Eucharistic Visitor trip tomorrow after the 10:00 a.m. service. I will accompany someone who has already done it, to observe. Then I’ll be officially ready to do it on my own. That means I’ll be able to take the bread and wine to people who aren’t able to come to church for some reason, like illness or injury. Then at the 5:00 p.m. service I am serving as Chalicist.

Since my mother manages an industrial bakery that makes gourmet breads, they sometimes have spills of the ingredients. She will bring home batches of seeds, cranberries and raisins that have been on the floor and we spread them for the birds in the back yard.  I’ve seen so many different kinds here. We get finches, cardinals, blue jays, morning doves and robins. We get quail and other birds I don’t recognize. It’s nice to sit on the couch and watch the Olympics and look out of the french doors into the yard to see  dozens of birds of different sizes and shapes. We even get squirrels and bunnies. Tucker likes to chase them, but he never comes close.

I kind of want to go to Metro and get Happy Hour sushi. I am trying not to hold my one bad experience against them, especially since I’ve had so many good experiences. But I guess I need more time to forget.

Instead I’ll just go to the new Super Kroger and cook mom something home made. She got an unexpected night off.

So...what do you think?

